Return from Oz

I’m now back in the northern hemisphere after my two week visit to Australia. I spent an amazingly wonderful weekend with my friends in Sydney which was not longer enough and two weeks with my parents which was too long. Don’t get me wrong, I love my parents but my mother and I do not cope being in close contact for more than a few days.

Whilst I loved seeing everyone and indulging in foods I’ve missed, I’ve reached the conclusion that I do not miss living in Australia. Sorry Oz, but Germany has captured my heart and I really do love my life here.  My quality of life in Germany is far better than I could afford in Australia on the same income. It was good to go back to Australia and realise that I wasn’t making a mistake choosing to stay in Germany.

I have many awesome photos to share from my trip to Oz. Well, I hope that they look as awesome on the computer screen as they do on the screen on my camera. At the moment, however, I’m suffering from the overwhelming jet-lag that results from a 26 hour plane trip so the photos will need to wait until I can sustain consciousness without the help of massive amounts of caffeine.

It feels good to be home.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Return from Oz

  1. I know the feeling……

  2. Carolina says:

    Interesting….very interesting! It’s good to hear your trip back home reaffirmed your decision to up and move to Germany. Now that you’ve said what you’ve said, I’m even MORE desirous to visit there ;)

  3. Welcome back…can’t wait to see the pics. :)

  4. Fiona says:

    I’m glad you’re happy with your decision :):)

  5. Ditto to the rest of your fans in that I’m glad that you feel confident about your decision. Can’t wait to see the pics too, if you share! :)

What are you thinking?

