My First Year in Deutschland

Coat of arms of Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Image via Wikipedia

Today, a year ago, I arrived in Hamburg with a suitcase, a backpack and a job offer, not knowing a single soul, barely a word of German and being an emotional wreck from the sudden ending of a 10 year relationship. It is amazing the difference a year makes. Today I still have the same suitcase, backpack and job but am settled in a gorgeous apartment, have many friends whose company I treasure and my head is in a really good head space. My German still needs much improvement but I can get around and ask for things I want. I have come to love Hamburg and life here. I still have so many things to do and places to explore, but I feel at home here. Moving here is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Blog posts from my first week in Hamburg:

Welcome to Hamburg

Day Two

First Day At Work

First Week in Hamburg: The Photo Edition

It is interesting to look back and remember how I saw life here a year ago and be surprised that I have only been here a year. It feels longer, not because I’ve found things extremely challenging here but because I feel just so settled and at home.

Onwards into year two and I hope it is as much as a blast as my first year here was.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My First Year in Deutschland

  1. Roxanne says:

    Awww happy German anniversary! I am so happy it’s been a year of good friends and positive experiences. Here’s to year two!

  2. Stereo says:

    Congratulations, darling. It’s such a huge achievement and you’ve come such a long way! You should be hugely proud of yourself ♥

  3. Wow! I can’t believe it’s a year :) Congrats on starting a new chapter of your life and being so successful with it.

  4. I am glad that Germany is being good to you. I only got to stay for three months, but I fell in love with the place, HARD. :)

  5. Mandi says:

    Wow, congrats on your first Germanniversary! Crazy to see how much a difference a little time can make, isn’t it?

  6. san says:

    Happy Germanniversary :) I love that you love it in my home country :)

What are you thinking?

