Thoughts on Week One

I have now been speaking German in the office for one week. In that week, I’ve come to realised just how much German I need to learn.  It is a little daunting, but I always knew that the road ahead would not be easy.

With three of my dear friends from Australia visiting over the weekend, I did not watch any German TV, read any German books nor practice any of my vocab.  I basically had the weekend off.  I’m going to give myself a guilt-free pass on that one cause spending time with friends from home definitely trumps spending time learning German.

I also spent Thursday and Friday not listening to any German audio, despite promising to listen to 30mins of German audio every day.  That I will not give myself a guilt-free pass on.  It was sheer laziness. I can’t promise I won’t do it again, but I will do my best not to.

All in all, the first week has been an interesting one; discovering how much German I know, how well I can currently express myself (basically as well as a 2 year old) and realising how much I have to learn (lots).  I’m hoping as this Fluent in 3 Months challenge continues I can begin to see some progress, but at the moment, it is just too early to do so.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thoughts on Week One

  1. So proud of you! You’re taking a big step here and I know it will pay off in the end. But I agree, it’s crazy how the more you speak the more you realize you don’t know. Keep it up – you’re an inspiration!!!

  2. Hopefully posting on my B1 Prüfung later this afternoon – if I can get some work out of the way. I’m nowhere near as dedicated as you but all in all, it’s moving along. :P

    Will you be in Cologne later this month? I will only be able to attend on Saturday night but looking forward to meeting some other Germany bloggers!

    • Riayn says:

      You have done your B1 Prüfung?? Wow, you are way ahead in your German compared to me.
      Yes, I will be in Cologne for the blogger’s meetup. I’ll see you at the Saturday dinner. :)

  3. Hi geek girl and other Aussies! I’m a German native speaker expat, also living in Hamburg. I put you into my blog-roll. My blog is about my experience with my new hometown with some ironic remarks about Hamburg. You may like it. It’s written in German. Maybe a good practice…

What are you thinking?

