Rock Out in German

As those of you who have been reading my blog for a while will know, I’m struggling to learn German.  One of my main problems is being able to understand what is being said to me. I’ve been told that one of the best ways to learn a new language is to listen to music in that language, but if you can’t understand what is being sang, well, then it isn’t much use.

However, I’ve just stumbled across the Goethe Institute’s page for teens called Step into German and on this site they have a whole mini-site devoted to German music. The huge plus is not only do they feature songs that I hear on the radio all day, but they also provide the lyrics plus an English translation so you can learn some new vocab. Now I can listen to music whilst I read the lyrics which helps my poor brain understand what is being sang. I’m loving that I can now sing along to Alles nur in meinem Kopf, but my coworkers may wish that I had never discovered this site.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rock Out in German

  1. Frau Dietz says:

    Brilliant idea! I’m going to check this out – thanks :)

  2. One song I can’t get out of my head these days is 3 Millionen by Bosse. (Video:

    Lyrics, with English Übersetzung here:http://lyricstranslate.com/en/3-millionen-3-millions.html
    Great idea, by the way. And thanks for the link to the music site.

  3. Mandi says:

    Wow, I just checked out the website and it’s brilliant! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this!!

What are you thinking?

