This Is The Beginning

I was listening to Boy’s new album Mutual Friends last night and I actually paid attention to the lyrics of the first track of the album, This Is The Beginning.  They beautifully sum up the expat experience for me.

Open the boxes, unpack what you own.
Hang up some posters and make this a home.
Walk down the stairs and open the door.
Look at the things you’ve never seen before.

This is the beginning, of anything you want.
This is the beginning…
This is the beginning, of anything you want.
This is the beginning…

Get on the buses, learn numbers and names
Your eyes are the camera, your heart is the frame
Hum a new song as you walk down the streets,
Soon they’ll be full with friends and memories.

This is the beginning, of anything you want.
This is the beginning…
This is the beginning, of anything you want.
This is the beginning…

Does anyone else view the expat experience this way? Not only as a chance to start a brand new life but a chance to make your life anything you want?

For me, the beginning is still ongoing, and I’m relishing the opportunity to make my life anything I want.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Is The Beginning

  1. fraudietz says:

    YES!! And I’m loving it :) (Even if life’s in control of me rather than the other way round at the moment!)

  2. For sure! I actually feel less pressure about it over here, which is really nice. Sometimes it’s a little scary (omg – WHAT am I going to do with myself?), but the openness of it is refreshing (what am I going to DO with myself?). Before I was often just going through the motions, doing what I thought I was supposed to, but here, my life makes me truly happy. Hooray for new beginnings!

    • Riayn says:

      I definitely agree about feeling less pressure here. Although I have the same job, everything else about my life here is so much different. I’m loving no longer suffocating under the weight of responsibility.

  3. cliff1976 says:

    I thought living in a foreign country would be a chance to reinvent myself when I was 15-16 and did an exchange year here. And I thought I did reinvent myself then, too.

    But moving to Germany indefinitely in my late 20’s showed me that I’ve always been the same me in both countries. No big personality switch-up as a result of the moves.

    The big difference is that being me here generally feels pretty good.

What are you thinking?

