Being A Bigot Is Not Okay

I was shocked, genuinely shocked, when I read a news report titled Herman Cain Was Elated When He Learned That His Muslim-Sounding Doctor Wasn’t Muslim. For those of you who have been staying away from the circus that is US politics at the moment, Herman Cain is one of the people who is desperately hoping that the Republican party will pick him as their nominee for President.  That’s right, this is a guy who is hoping to be President of the United States.  The man that, if he is elected, will be on the world stage and who as part of his job will have to work with people from all over the world and from all religions. This man thinks it’s perfect okay to tell the world that he was glad he didn’t have a Muslim doctor treating him.

Now I know there are bigots in the world, my mother is one of them. On my trip back to Australia, my mother wanted to know if there were Muslims in Hamburg because apparently there are now a lot of them in Australia.  She also informed me that there was now ‘lots of those black people living in Newcastle’.  I was disgusted at her attitude and I am disgusted at Cain’s attitude.  Bigotry is not okay.  It has never been okay and it will never be okay. Race and religion should not matter.  The only thing that should matter is if the person you are dealing with is a good person.  Do they treat you and others with kindness? Or do they spread hatred? It doesn’t matter what god they pray to or what clothes they wear, that they are a good, kind person is all that does.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Being A Bigot Is Not Okay

  1. Stereo says:

    The more I read about this fool, the more laughable he becomes. His actions are no laughing matter but he is clearly fooling himself if he thinks that this is the way to garner the respect and ultimately the votes of Americans. Things like this sicken me.

    • Riayn says:

      I agree. This behaviour is disgusting and should not be tolerated no matter what your political views are. Hatred and intolerance is not a good way to run a country.

  2. Yŭrgi says:

    I can say I was shocked by what Cain said. I was hardly even surprised.

    I don’t know if you’ve been keeping up with the Republican race, but to me it doesn’t seem like they’re running for president. They’re just trying to outcrazy each other.

    • Riayn says:

      I’ve been keeping up as much as I can and I agree you are right, they are trying to outcrazy each other. However, up until now, they haven’t been as blatantly bigoted as Cain just was.
      I’m seriously worried about anyone who thinks any one of the nominees would be a good choice for US President.

  3. AMEN! Totally agree….not sure what sort of craziness is going on back in my home country right now. I wonder does it look so insane to those living there or is it just distance that allows me to see the insanity???

    • Riayn says:

      I think it is what side of the political divide you come down on as to whether you see the GOP nominees as completely insane or a field of decent candidates.

  4. Mados says:

    American politics makes me doubt that democracy is as good as its reputation. It is a very dangerous political model in countries where the majority are idiots (apparently).

What are you thinking?

