A Tough Week

I’ve had a tough week emotionally this week.  My emotions have been all over the place, but mainly in the downwards directions.  I blame the constant fog, cold damp weather and lack of sunlight.  I’ve beaten myself up for having problems deciphering German grammar and not being as good speaking German as some of my classmates.  I’ve gotten all depressed because for some reason I feel isolated here, even though I know I have a wonderful circle of friends. I’ve gotten angry at myself for putting on weight, even though I’ve started eating better and started running again and have lost 2.5kg in the last 2 weeks. All in all, it’s been one crap week and I’ll be glad to see it end.

I know that when I get like this, I need to go and do things to cheer myself up.  Tomorrow I’ll be hitting the Christmas markets to shop for Christmas gifts for my family and to indulge in Schmalzkuchen and Glühwein and tomorrow night I’ll be treated to a home-cooked Indian meal by my Indian classmate and will get a chance to get to know some of my classmates better.  Then on Sunday, I’ll be having brunch with a dear friend who I haven’t seen for a couple of weeks. I’ve also just brought a book that explains German grammar in English and will be diving into that as soon as it arrives.  I know things will get better and this horrible dark feeling won’t last forever, but I really hate these low feeling weeks.

About Riayn

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Tough Week

  1. Stereo says:

    I know exactly what you mean and how you feel, babe. I call them Down Days. I’m hoping that your spirits lift soon and a smile returns to your face ♥

  2. Mandi says:

    Sounds really familiar, I have to say. I’m blaming it right now on the weather and lack of sunlight. An unexpected stop by the Christmas market here in Bremen last night did wonders — or maybe it was just all the sugar. :) Sounds like you have an awesome weekend planned, and hope it cheers you up.

  3. Frau Dietz says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been feeling so rubbish. What’s inspiringly positive about you though, and what you should totally hang on to, is that you have perspective on it: you understand that even though you’re feeling shit, things are ok really, and you know exactly what you need to do to make yourself feel better – and most importantly, you’re motivated to go out and do it. As long as you keep that perspective and that amazing attitude, you’ll get through every crap week that tries to squash you. And never forget… we ALL have those weeks :) HAVE A FAB WEEKEND!

    p.s. BRILLIANT work re the 2.5kg, you should be chuffed to bits. I just lost 1kg, was extremely proud of myself and then got so frustrated at the idea of having to keep going that I ate it all back on again ;)

    • Riayn says:

      I’m trying to retain some kind of perspective on it all as I know that nothing is actually bad in my life at the moment.
      I totally hear you about losing a kilo and then getting frustrated at the whole dieting thing. I’ve done that many times myself, but this time, I need to lose the weight so I’m committed to it. I just hope all the yummy food that is around at this time of year is not my undoing.

      • Frau Dietz says:

        I keep THINKING I’m committed to it and I’m swimming REALLY hard, but unfortunately it’s exactly all that yummy food that’s around this time of year (that I’m cooking for myself, *cough*) that’s my undoing. Well, I’ll get there in the end I hope. In the meantime, GO YOU!! :)

  4. Kell says:

    Riayn, hope it gets better and those plans you have in the coming days should help.

  5. Anne says:

    It really is hard to keep away the down days…with the dark gloomy weather and the fact that everything is more difficult with the language and unfamiliar processes.
    But then sometimes there are little moments where a stranger is kind in a small way or you can feel proud of accomplishing something. Hold on to those!

    I hope the next days bring you some sun and some cheerful moments!

  6. alliedow says:

    I haven’t been here as long as you have, my German is not even comparable to yours, and you have friends and a job which I lack currently (well I got the job but I don’t have the work visa yet), so I can honestly I know those low weeks. It will get better, it always does, it just takes time and mind power. But hey you lost weight and you have plans, you’re on a good path!

    • Riayn says:

      Thanks :) I think low weeks come to us all. Don’t get too worried that you haven’t found your feet here in Germany yet. Adapting to German life takes time and even though I’ve been here a year, I’m still adapting and trying to find my way.

What are you thinking?

