One Word #reverb11

From http://shivasteveordog.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/santosha-contentment-through-yoga-at-a-prison/One Word.

Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word.
Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

Last year, the word I chose was Contentment. After a horrible 2010, I just wanted to feel settled and happy.  I think I have achieved that this year. Whilst I’m still struggling with the language barrier, I have found a good circle of friends and a wonderful little apartment to call my own.  Adapting to life in Germany is going to be an on-going process, at least for the next couple of years, but I’m happy with where things are at so far.

For 2012 I want to embrace the word Growth. I want to grow as a person and become a better version of me. I want to challenge myself by doing the things that scare me and in doing so, truly grow as a person. I want to look back at 2012 and see it full of all the things I accomplished and have no regrets about the things I didn’t do because fear held me back. I want to find myself in a better place mentally, physically and emotionally by the time 2013 comes around.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Word #reverb11

  1. Your smiley man made me happy. :) I’m glad to read you now feel contentment after this year and think you’re already well on a path of growth. Hope 2012 is exactly what you want it to be.

  2. Stereo says:

    I just need to see a smile like that on your face now. I am so happy that 2011 has been something of a relief for you and that you have found your feet and your place in your new home. I’m hoping 2012 exceeds all your hopes and expectations :)

  3. kimlg99 says:

    If I used one word to describe the tone of this post it would be hopeful – and hopeful always sounds like a good way to start a new year.

  4. Roxanne says:

    There is something so powerful about hearing a story of seeking happiness and finding that happiness was achieved. May you stay content through the years to come. Growth and contentment go hand-in-hand, so I cannot wait to read your stories of both in 2012.

  5. one word for this post?

    wonderful

    x

What are you thinking?

