Generosity #reverb11

Party SMS

Image via Wikipedia

Generosity: Were you witness to or a recipient of generous action this year?  What can you give back in 2012?

I get the feeling that this prompt is looking for an example of a big one-time only display of generosity, but I wanted to blog about those little generous acts that have made all the difference to me.  Here in Germany, I’m still trying to find my feet and make new friends and it is little generous acts by some of my new friends here that have really made me feel at home and that I belong. I have two wonderful friends, Eddie and Ute who will message me out of the blue if they feel they haven’t seen me in a while just to make sure I’m doing okay. This simple act of them just sending me an SMS means the world to me and makes me feel loved.

Moving to Germany meant that I left a lot of friends back in Australia and whilst I know they are still my friends and they still care about me, I’ve got to admit, very few of them have kept in contact. However, my awesome friend Kym, who I used to do Kung Fu with, is one of the few who have.  The fact she takes time out of her busy and at the moment, rather eventful life to email me with all the latest updates means so much to me.  I love and cherish the fact that she still wants me to be part of her life even though I now live thousands of miles away. It’s actually strange that the people I knew for the least amount of time in Australia where the ones who picked me up after my long-term relationship ended and are the ones who still keep in regular contact.

I know that sending an SMS and writing an email may not sound like a generous act but to a geeky awkward girl who quite regularly feels like she just doesn’t quite fit in anywhere it means so very much. I know that I sometimes forget to tell people how much they mean to me and that is something I’m trying to work on remembering to do. Hopefully I get much better at it in 2012.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

