Addition Through Subtraction #reverb11

What have you let go of this year and how has it affected you?

I’ve let go of the rather ridiculous notion that I need to be in a relationship to be truly happy. I think I’m the happiest I’ve ever been and feeling more fulfilled than I have in a very long time and I feel that quite a lot of that has to be with being single and having the freedom to explore some new directions. Now this is not to say that I never want to be in another relationship, but this time of being single has given me time to think about what exactly I want from a future relationship and that I don’t need to settle for anything less than that. I was suckered into this horrible mindset that is so prevalent in today’s society that if you are not in a relationship that there must be something wrong with you.  This year, I’ve come to accept that there is nothing wrong with me and I don’t need to rush into a relationship just so I can fit into this mindset. I’m finally okay with letting things happen as they will and maybe having some fun with trying out some out of the box ways to find the right person to share my life with.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Addition Through Subtraction #reverb11

  1. lolasangria says:

    you know, even IN a relationship – there are all of these pressures too. like, am i doing something wrong if i’m not engaged or ready to have kids? so you might be surprised at how those who are in them might also sympathize with this, as i do. i am glad for your realization and process of letting go – both single-land and relationship-land truly have tons to offer, it’s just a matter of taking advantage.

    • Riayn says:

      I definitely know the pressures you get whilst in a relationship as well having just ended a 10 year one 18 months ago. I feel for everyone who is having to deal with all the pressures that society puts on people to conform to what it considers essential.

  2. Kell says:

    It’s always hard at first, especially after being in a long term relationship. But I’ve very much come to love being single. I’ve met a lot of nice people and some very much relationship quality, but I’m just not ready to give up on my single status.

  3. Alison says:

    I’m in a pretty great relationship presently but prior to that I was single for about 3years and utterly loved it. Living by myself while single was one of the best periods of my life. I crave alone time and fortunately have a partner that gets and supports that. Enjoy being single and not having to answer to anybody about what you’re doing, when, and why. If you like and when the time is right, there will be other relationships.

What are you thinking?

