Failure of the 3 Month Language Challenge. Time to start over.

My ambitious challenge to become conversational in German in just three months failed due to one reason alone : I did not make learning German a priority. Yes, I went to my twice weekly classes, did all my homework, spoke a bit of German here and there, but I made no real effort to learn and more importantly practice my German.  I’m not one of these lucky people who have a ear for language and can pick them up easily.  I seem to need to work twice as hard as everyone else to get to the same level. However, I know I have the ability to learn German, because I learnt to speak English, but I need to put some effort into it.  I simply did not do that.

This time, I’m not going to have any gimmicky challenge, I’m simply going to make learning German a priority. I need to get over the fear of making an fool of myself and just start speaking German, cause quite frankly, I’m more than capable of making an fool of myself speaking English, might as well accomplish that in German too. I also know that I’m not really going to make a life for myself here in Germany until I start speaking the language.

It’s time to stop making up excuses and just do it.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Failure of the 3 Month Language Challenge. Time to start over.

  1. I know it’s an an overused cliche, but in this matter it fits – the perfect is the enemy of the good. In speaking German, you don’t have to be perfect, you just have to be understood, and it’s okay to make mistakes. Heck, even Germans have to study German for YEARS in school before they can speak it correctly. :-)

  2. Tom Otomcio says:

    Good for you! I’ve been here for almost a year and I should be getting further. Working in an English environment, living in an English environment and having German friends with great English isn’t really motivating me to make the most of living in Germany. Got to turn this around!

    Viel Glück!

  3. What Harvey said. Do you think less of the many Vietnamese, Italian or Greek immigrants in Australia, many who have lived in Oz for much of their adult life, simply because they communicate without the niceties of Double Bay poshery? No, you say (in perfect ‘Strine) good on them for having a go.

  4. Amr Boghdady says:

    I don’t think you were making any excuses, cause honestly, being fluent in a new language in just 3 months requires so much dedication that I don’t think it would be possible without neglecting all of your other life duties.
    Why don’t you try looking for a study buddy, or a German friend nearby, or even one that you could have conversations with over Skype for example? That way I’m sure learning would be much easier and much more interesting :)

    Good luck with your 2nd try!

    • Riayn says:

      I have access to people who will speak German to me, in fact I’m surrounded by them all day long, but I always take the easier option of speaking English with them. If I had just spoken German for 30 mins a day, my German would be far better than it currently is. It’s time to stop making those excuses.

  5. Same problem. Same excuse. I´ve resolved MANY times to do my online German course 30 minutes a day. Number of times i´ve actually done it? two. My German BF and I say almost daily we will speak more German at home. Hasn´t happened. I´m resolving again today. :)

  6. Pingback: A Preface On Languages « PrefacMe

  7. Pingback: Pulling My Finger Out | Counting Time

  8. Pingback: Pulling My Finger Out « Geek Mädel

What are you thinking?

